25
Jan
10

Random Thoughts, Vol I, issue 2

  1. Catching up on Torchwood. Liked 2nd season a lot more than 1st. Last night watched parts 1 & 2 of “Children of Earth” – so far so great.
  2. Still have the Christmas tree up. Probably should take care of that before progressing to “Children of Earth” part 3.
  3. Bought Peebs a copy of Susan Boyle’s CD for Christmas, per her request. We both had the same reaction: eh. All the arrangements kinda sound the same. Boyle’s rendition of Madonna’s “You’ll See” is very good – but who suggested she perform “Daydream Believer” as a slow piece? YIKES. (Although the opening track is “Wild Horses” and it actually works.)
  4. At work: too much to do, not enough time. As always. But the to-do list thing has helped some.
  5. Actually had a disagreement with Peebs earlier. She called asking when the next full moon was. I looked it up and told her. “No, that can’t be right.” I guess she’s actually having a disagreement with my wall calendar. Which, by the way, she bought me.)
  6. Except now I looked at the calendar again and the symbol I thought represented the full moon is actually the new moon symbol, and vice versa. So I was wrong.
  7. Trivia: the date of Easter is often said to occur “on the first Sunday after the first full moon after the vernal equinox.” However, the realities of what is meant by “full moon” and “vernal equinox” in that calculation are not the obvious things you think they are – in other words, it’s Way Too Complicated. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computus
  8. Danged if there wasn’t something else I was going to include that has totally slipped my greasy little mind.
2 Responses to “Random Thoughts, Vol I, issue 2”


  1. 2010 January 25 at 6:43 pm

    That’s why I always just google “when is Easter 2010” or whatever.

    • 2010 January 25 at 6:59 pm

      As do I. Well, Google or Wikipedia. (Yeah, someone could vandalize Wikipedia, I suppose, but then someone could also put up a website with bad info on it – and I suspect the Wikipedia vandalism would get corrected faster. 😉 )


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

What’d you say?

scribejay on More
Missy Ruth on More

Categories

Look back in wonder…

Chirp. No, wait, tweet.


