23
Dec
09

Progeny Progress Report

At thirteen+ months, here’s his status:

  • Will sometimes say “mama” and “dada” when prompted, but only then. Convinced he once tried to repeat me saying “stinky” while I was trying to change his diaper. Also once rode in the backseat repeating “Die, die, die, die, die, die, die…” so either he’s plotting our untimely demises à la Stewie Griffin, or he’s been watching Perfect Strangers reruns behind our back.
  • Still not walking independently. Has occasionally attempted a step or two, but for the most part he will “cruise” with one or both hands on a piece of furniture, then plop down on his Royal Tochas if he has to cross an unfurnished area. We’re speculating he needs to be around kids his age who are figuring out the words to the one-foot-in-front-of-the-other song. Crawls like anything, though — in fact, it seems like he won’t stop moving unless he’s distracted by a toy he wants to play with or a TV screen (preferably showing a commercial, which bodes ill).
  • We’re pretty sure Tooth #8 is coming through.
  • Despite aforementioned age, still wearing many of his 6 – 9 month clothes.
  • Not particularly fond of sippy cups.
  • Showing a distinct reluctance to memorize his social security number.

I suppose it’s perfectly natural to wonder about whether we’re doing anything wrong. But, knowing that, I can’t allow it to stop me from fretting about it. I guess what I mean is, which is the worse sin? To worry unduly that we’re delaying his development in some way, or to resist worrying when, in fact, we’re missing something? If the answer isn’t “the latter,” someone tell me why not so I can relax already.

Anyway, merry Christmas to all my Christmas-celebrating readers.

6 Responses to “Progeny Progress Report”


  1. 1 Hayley
    2009 December 23 at 9:46 pm

    Interestingly enough, I am told that I did the same thing well past when I should have – walking around perfectly well, but refusing to let go of the furniture with both hands. I turned out just fine!

  2. 2009 December 23 at 11:53 pm

    “all kids progress at different rates”… the differences within my four alone are astounding.

    i’m SURE you’re not doing anything wrong. but this is your baby. relax and enjoy him :p

  3. 2009 December 24 at 3:33 am

    UPDATE: No sooner did I bring the boy home than without any prompting he took two or three steps on his own. Wish I’d caught it on camera or something!

  4. 5 Kristen Vo
    2009 December 24 at 2:10 pm

    Emlyn didn’t walk on her own until she was 14 months old, and I assure you, she is not developmentally delayed in any way! :o) I’m sure HRH is just figuring things out as he feels like it – I’m sure he has an opinion on the subject!
    As for his size, pretty much the same goes – they all develop at their own rates. Isn’t DW petite?

    • 2009 December 24 at 3:37 pm

      She is, very. (Took me a moment to figure out that “DW” referred to “Darling Wife” and not “Disney World,” “Darkwing” Duck, or “Doctor Who.” Heh heh.)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

What’d you say?

scribejay on More
Missy Ruth on More

Categories

Look back in wonder…

Chirp. No, wait, tweet.


